Sydney Christmas 2010

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas (or other relevant festivities). Here are a few photos from this year’s Christmas at my parents’ home in Sydney. Unfortunately, I was so focused on the food that I didn’t really get any good shots of all the beautiful people (family, friends, pets) who were there, but I can attest that the company was wonderful, and everyone had a lovely time. I will post a few of the recipes for things you see here in the coming days.

We put hibiscus flowers in glasses of champagne and had gingerbread while waiting for everyone to arrive.

It was a beautifully sunny day, so my father set up the table on the deck in the garden.

Along with amazing turkey and gravy (not pictured) my brother, Hugh, made for us, we had nutmeat in brioche

Roast potatoes (photo courtesy of Gemma Farrar)

Roast pumpkin and carrots (also thanks to Gemma Farrar)

Hugh’s girlfriend Natalia brought the most wonderful strawberry chocolate tart.

Leanne Kilroy of The Shortlists brought a very impressive orange spice cake with a cheesecake layer in the middle. (You can find the recipe here!)

We have a rather recent tradition in my family (originally from Norwegian relatives) of making a rice crème for Christmas and hiding a single almond in it. Whoever finds the almond wins a marzipan pig (this year’s winner: Leanne)!

As we didn’t want people to cry, those who were upset at not winning the pig were consoled by the fact that everyone also got to choose a piece of marzipan fruit that my mother had very skillfully created.

We were all so full of sugar by the end, that the Christmas cake remained untouched.

Though this didn’t stop us for having mince tarts, orange spice cake and champagne the next morning for breakfast…

8 thoughts on “Sydney Christmas 2010

  1. Oh, this is bringing back beautiful memories of all the beautiful food (and company). I was kicking myself for not bringing home a piece of the nutmeat brioche – definitely one of the most delicious things I’ve ever had. I can’t wait for the recipe. Thanks again for a perfect day.

    1. We all loved having both of you there! And the cake went within a day too – it was so good. I’ll post the brioche recipe in the next couple of days – it really is one of my absolute favourite things about Christmas. But today we are back to cooking another lunch, and I have made two different kinds of semifreddo for desert, so fingers crossed they turn out!

Leave a Reply

