Salmon, Avocado and Roasted Carrot Salad

So I am back in Australia again, and in between working on funding applications and a paper on the public accessibility of concepts, I have also been also ‘organizing’ my wedding (which is in less than three weeks). Well, organize is putting it loosely as we did most of the prep work while in the States, and so the majority of my jobs have included seeing the venue and being a little confused about what to do next. Let’s just say I promise to post a picture of the cake, and leave wedding talk at that for the moment.

My most recent (well, my only) wedding-reconnaissance mission took me to Melbourne. While for the next month I am more strictly based in Sydney at the home of my parents, I always love visiting Melbourne, especially as I get to see very much adored family members. This dinner I made for my cousin Alex and her husband Finn who not only introduced me to Nick, but who kindly put me up for a couple of nights during my most recent stay. It was a lovely summer evening, and my task was to use the hot smoked salmon they had in their fridge, so I made this salad…

Mayonnaise Sauce

4 tablespoons of mayonnaise made with free-range eggs

The juice of 1 lemon

Salt and pepper

Beat together the ingredients with a fork, and put in a very small jug or bowl for pouring over the salad.

Radishes

Salmon, Avocado and Roasted Carrot Salad

(Serves  four)

1 bunch small (baby) carrots

1-2 tbs olive oil

1/2 cup flaked almonds

4-6 radishes

2 small-medium ripe avocados

1 portion of hot smoked salmon (the size in a the standard packet you would get in your supermarket, around 150g/5oz)

A large bag of rocket (arugula)

Carrots for Roasting

Preheat the oven to 190°C (375°F). Peel the carrots and slice them in half lengthwise. Arrange carrots on a baking tray and drizzle with olive oil. Sprinkle with a decent pinch of salt and toss to coat carrots in oil and salt. Place the carrots in the oven for approximately 20 mins until they are soft and slightly browned at the edges.

While the carrots are roasting you can prepare the rest of the salad. Dry toast the slivered almonds in a frying pan, shaking it regularly so that they don’t burn. When the almonds have browned and smell delicious, put them to one side.

Wash the radishes and cut off the tops and any nasty looking bits. Slice very thinly width-wise. Scoop out the inside of the avocado, and chop into small cubes.

When the carrots are ready, put each component on the table for people to serve themselves, or toss everything together in a large bowl, flaking in pieces of salmon near the end of the tossing process. Serve with mayonnaise sauce.

Salmon, avocado and roasted carrot salad

Vegan note: By omitting the salmon and using vegannaise, you can make a fantastic vegan salad. I would, however, suggest making the addition of slicing up some shallots (Australians – take note of usage), and frying them in a small amount of olive oil until crisp. This will give the salad the extra strong-flavour component needed to substitute for the fish.

2 thoughts on “Salmon, Avocado and Roasted Carrot Salad

Leave a Reply

