Pear and Ginger Sorbet

Pear and ginger sorbet

There are times when I feel like my cooking has gone well, but rarely have I made something so successful as this sorbet. When I discovered how easy it was to make sorbet with an ice cream maker, during my month of being vegan, I decided to experiment a little, and came up with this. Just before Nick and I left New York, Nick took me to Per Se for my birthday. I have never had a more wonderful meal than I did there, and I was rather surprised that one small component of one of the million courses tasted just like my pear and ginger sorbet. If you ever needed a recommendation, this is it.

The sorbet would make a lovely dessert, or, if you want to impress people at a dinner party (be super-fancy), offer a small scoop of sorbet between the cheese course and dessert as a palate cleanser.

Ginger sorbetPear and Ginger Sorbet

6-7 ripe pears (I used yellow bartlett, but just use whatever variety looks good)

2/3 cup of water

3/4 cup of white or raw sugar

A large knob of ginger

1 teaspoon of lemon juice

Remove the skin from the ginger, and put the skinned ginger in a medium-large pot. Remove the skin and stalk from the pears and slice them into medium-sized cubes. Add the water and the pears to the ginger. Place over medium-high heat, cover and bring to a light simmer. Cook for 10-15 minutes until it clearly smells of ginger. Take off the heat, remove the ginger and stir in the sugar. Put to one side until it has cooled to room temperature.

Once cooled, purée in a food processor or blender. Place in the fridge until completely cold (this will take several hours, but it can be left overnight).

Pour into an ice cream maker and process according to the manufacturer’s directions.

7 thoughts on “Pear and Ginger Sorbet

    1. Thanks! Basically any seasonal fruit can be made into sorbet if you have an ice cream maker – you just vary the boiling time depending on how hard the fruit is (so apples would have to be boiled for longer until they are soft).

    1. To be honest, I will try ginger in just about anything – it is always pleasing when it works out. Really adds an interesting level of flavour to so many desserts.

  1. I was trying to figure out how to make this without an ice cream maker and here’s what I found: pour the mixture onto a cookie sheet (jelly roll pan) and freeze it, then break it into pieces and blend it again, and refreeze.

Leave a Reply

